Announcement of the 2021 Nib Literary Award finalists


The list of finalists for the $ 20,000 Mark and Evette Moran Nib Literary Prize, known as “The Feather”, has been announced.

The preselected books are:

  • Only Happiness Here: In Search of Elizabeth von Arnim (Gabrielle Carey, UQP)
  • The Winter Road: A Tale of Legacy, Land, and a Croppa Creek Murder (Kate Holden, Black Inc.)
  • A Letter to Layla: Travels in Our Deep Past and Near Future (Ramona Koval, text)
  • The Believer: Encounters with Love, Death, and Faith (Sarah Krasnostein, text)
  • Brush wires (Tim Olsen, A&U)
  • Amnesia Road: Landscape, violence and memory (Luke Stegemann, NewSouth).

Presented by the Sydney Waverley Council and celebrating its 20th anniversary, the Nib recognizes the role of research in fiction and non-fiction and is Australia’s only major literary award presented by a local council. The all-documentary shortlist was chosen from a long list of 18 people announced in August.

Each shortlisted author receives the $ 1,000 Alex Buzo Shortlist Award, named in honor of the Australian playwright who was a former Nib Award judge, and who contributed to its development.

Last year’s Nib Award winner was Fathoms: The world in the whale by Rebecca Giggs (Scribe).

This year’s winner and the winner of the People’s Choice Award of $ 2,500 will be announced on November 24. For more information on the award, visit the Waverley Council website.

Category: Local News Awards


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *