Announcement of the winners of the 2021 Aotearoa Book Trade Industry Awards


The winners of the Aotearoa Book Trade Industry Awards carried over to 2021 have been announced.

The winners of each category are:

Book Publisher of the Year

Emerging Editor of the Year

  • Rachel Eadie, Penguin Random House New Zealand

Bookstore of the Year

  • Schrödinger Bookstore, Petone

Emerging Bookstore of the Year

  • Rafael Moreira, McLeods booksellers, Rotorua

Best Seller Award (for the best seller by volume and value between April 2020 and March 2021)

  • Super good (Chelsea Winter, Random House New Zealand)

Marketing and advertising strategy of the year

  • HarperCollins NZ for Impossible: my story by Stan Walker, Campaign Director Rebecca Thorne

Aotearoa Booksellers’ Choice Award (co-winners)

  • AuÄ“ (Becky Manawatu, Makaro Press)
  • Imagine decolonization (Rebecca Kiddle, Bianca Elkington, Moana Jackson, Ocean Mercier, Mike Ross, Jennie Smeaton and Amanda Thomas, BWB)

Saleswoman of the year

  • Jessica Rice, Penguin Random House New Zealand

Innovation Award in the Book Industry

Lifetime Achievement Award

The annual awards, hosted by the New Zealand Publishers Association Te Rau o Tākupu (PANZ) and Aotearoa New Zealand booksellers, were announced at an online ceremony on September 29.

Category: Local News Awards


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *