Bragg Prize for Scientific Writing Shortlisted Announcement


The list of finalists for this year’s UNSW Press Bragg Award for Scientific Writing has been announced.

The preselected parts are:

  • “The COVID-Climate Collision” by Jo Chandler (Griffith live review)
  • “The Eternal Free Fall” by Ceridwen Dovey (Alexander)
  • “Soundings” by Rebecca Giggs (Scribe)
  • ‘Hail Hydrogen: Fueling the Future Fuel Debate’ by Nicole Hasham (Griffith live review)
  • ‘Virus Detectives’ by Fiona McMillan (Cosmos)
  • ‘To the Dragon Palace and back’ by Jackson Ryan (

The Bragg Prize winner receives $ 7,000 and the two finalists each receive $ 1,500. The shortlisted pieces will be published in the next anthology Australia’s best science essay 2021 (edited by Dyani Lewis, NewSouth, November).

Presented by NewSouth Publishing for short scientific texts written for the general public, the Bragg Prize for Scientific Writing is named in honor of Australia’s first Nobel Laureates, William Henry Bragg and his son William Lawrence Bragg.

The winner of the award will be announced on October 30 on ABC Radio National’s The Science Show. For more information, visit the NewSouth Publishing website.

Category: Local News Awards


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *