Chief Minister NT Book Awards 2022 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2022 Chief Minister’s NT Book Awards, which celebrate writing excellence in the Northern Territory, have been announced.

The shortlisted titles in each category are:


  • Cusp (Mary Anne Butler, Currency Press)
  • The eye of the curlew (Karen Manton, A&U)
  • back to dust (Dani Powell, UWAP)


  • Crimes for Peace: Pine Gap, National Security and Dissent (Kieran Finnane, UQP)
  • Into the Loneliness: The Unholy Alliance of Ernestine Hill and Daisy Bates (Eleanor Hogan, NewSouth)
  • nomadic girl (Kanakiya Myra Ah Chee, Indigenous Studies Press)

Children and young adults

  • Storm warning (Lauren Boyle, illustrated by Alyssa Mason, ILF)
  • River (Sally Morgan, illustration of Johnny Warrkatja Malibirr, Magabala)
  • Tjanimaku Tjukurpa: How a Young Man Became Good (NPY Women’s Council Uti Kulintaku Watiku [Men’s] Group, illustrated by Jan Bauer, NPY Women’s Council).

Each category winner will receive $10,000 in prize money, and all shortlisted entries will receive $1,000.

“In addition to strong voices in English and First Nations languages, the topics were broad and touched on a number of important topics with great insight,” said this year’s judges Marie Munkara, Leonie Norrington and Leni Shilton, who added that creating a shortlist of such a level of work was a difficult task.

Presented every two years, the Chief Minister’s NT Book Awards “highlight the talent, originality and brilliance of NT writers and share them with interstate readers”.

The winners will be announced on Wednesday, June 22 as part of this year’s NT Writers Festival. For more information, see the NT Writers Center website.

Category: Awards Local News