Minutes of the White House Meeting with State Legislative Leaders on the Extreme Risks Protection Order (ERPO) Legislation

Building on President Biden’s signing of the bipartisan Safer Communities Act last month, today Julie Chavez Rodriguez, Senior Advisor to the President and White House Director of Intergovernmental Affairs, Stefanie Feldman, Deputy Assistant to the President for Domestic Policy, and Rosie Hidalgo, Special Assistant to the President and Senior Advisor on Gender-Based Violence, convened a meeting on Extreme Risk Protection Order (ERPO) laws with Florida state legislative leaders , Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Minnesota, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and Texas. ERPOs — sometimes called “red flag” laws — allow family members, law enforcement, or other responsible individuals to seek a court order temporarily barring people in crisis from accessing firearms. whether they pose a danger to themselves or others.

The bipartisan Safer Communities Act includes $750 million for states to implement crisis interventions such as ERPOs, responding to the president’s repeated call for this funding. Last year, the Department of Justice took steps to support state efforts to enact these laws by releasing model red flag legislation. Ministry of Justice Extreme Risk Protection Order Model Legislation Available here.

ERPOs reduce gun violence and save lives – and that’s why they’ve won bipartisan support. Currently, 19 states have ERPO laws. With federal funding on the way, now is the time for more states to enact ERPO laws and for all states to conduct more education and outreach to ensure the public and law enforcement know when and how to request an ERPO.

During the meeting, legislative leaders from Florida and Maryland shared how their states successfully passed ERPO laws. Legislative leaders from Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and Texas shared their plans for advancing ERPO legislation. All participants discussed best practices for ERPO education and awareness campaigns.

State legislative leaders at today’s meeting included:

  • Maryland House Speaker Adrienne Jones
  • Morgan McGarvey, Kentucky Senate Minority Leader
  • Bill Galvano, former President of the Florida Senate
  • Florida State Senator Lori Berman
  • Florida State Representative Christine Hunschofsky
  • Maryland State Delegate Vanessa Atterbeary
  • Maryland State Senator Jeff Waldstreicher
  • Minnesota State Representative Kelly Moller
  • Minnesota State Representative Dave Pinto
  • Debra Altschiller, New Hampshire State Representative
  • Pennsylvania State Rep. Jennifer O’Mara
  • Todd Stephens, Pennsylvania State Representative
  • Texas State Senator Roland Gutierrez